Allow Gmail Account Access to Another Without Sharing Password

Allow or Grant Gmail Account Access to Another Google User for reading and send email on behalf of you.

You can revoke email access anytime from Granted / Delegate user.

Nowadays Gmail is one of the most popular platforms all over the world. Gmail is the part of the Google product family.

Google provides the variety of features and management tools for management and maintains a Gmail account that eases your work, life, and workload with easily, fastest and security.

Today we discussed the Gmail feature named “Grant access to your account“, What is it. Let’s learn more with an easy example.

You have a business or personal email account on Gmail and I received large volume may mail on daily basis and need to check mail and reply them.

Suppose you are going to vacation for 7 to 10 days and you want to somebody manage user email ID on your behalf, in this situation you need to appoint a someone to manage your email account, but you.

In this case, you have to need to share your Gmail username and password, but using this Gmail feature “Grant access to your accountyou have no need to share your username and password with anyone. Wowww, amazing how it works.

Also Read: How to Backup Google Products

In this feature, Allow or Grant access to your account to another Google user for reading and send email on behalf of you. Google called “Delegate” granted user. You can add more than one delegate to your account.

You can add up to 10 delegates. If you’re using Gmail through your work, school, or other organization, you can add up to 25 delegates. There’s no limit to the number of accounts you can be a delegate for.

The delegate user doesn’t have any right to manage your Gmail account. The delegate user only can read and send mail on your behalf.

Let’s start step by step and learn how to Allow or Grant access to your account to another Google user for reading and send email on behalf of you.

1: On your laptop or desktop computer, open Gmail and sign in with Gmail username and password.

2: In the top right corner, click SettingsGoogle Settings

3: Click Settings from the menu.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

4: Click the Accounts and Import tab.

5: In the Grant access to your account section, click “Add another account”.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

6: Enter the email address of the person you want to add and click Next step.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

7: Click Send the email to grant access.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

The person you added will get an email asking them to confirm. It may take up to between 30 minutes to 24 hours, for you to see them as a delegate after they confirm.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

After a added the delegate Gmail display a message on top of Gmail window for 7 days for review setting. You have granted access to your account to <delegateemailid>@gmail.com.

This notice will end in 7 days. Review Settings Learn more“. Delegate not able to access Gmail till user accepts the invitation. You can delete invitation anytime.

Also Read: Undo send mail in Gmail

Now invitation showing as pending and delegate not able to access Gmail account till user accept your invitation. You can delete invitation anytime.

The invitation expires after a week If the user does not accept your invitation within 7 days.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

Let’s have look on added delegate Gmail account window.

The delegate received an invitation email. The email Contains both link one for Accept and second for Reject.

If the delegate accepts the invitation, then google start activation process that will take 30 minutes to 24 hours.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

If the delegate accepts the invitation then Gmail ask for confirmation for viewing and sending email on your behalf.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

Google confirms the successfully accepts the invitation and with for 30 minutes to 24 hours to active on google server.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

After successful activation delegate can switch Gmail account as per image is shown below.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

The delegate has the limited privilege to use the Gmail account as per image is shown below. 

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

Limited privilege to delegate account.

Google also displays a message on the delicate Gmail account window. “You have granted access to your account to <InvitationuserEmailID>@gmail.com.

This notice will end in 5 days. Review Settings Learn more”. for 7 days.

Allow Gmail Access to Other User

Also read: Gmail Features Series | You Must Know – Part 1

Also read: Gmail Features Series | You Must Know – Part 2

Ram

I am Sr. Software Engineer, I have hands-on experience in software design, development, project management, software research, front-end, back-end programming, troubleshooting techniques.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *